LOG IN / REGISTER




SoHo Playhouse Announces Reprise of Baba Brinkman's Critically Acclaimed "Rap Guide to..." Series
Posted by: Official_Press_Release 07:33 am EST 12/05/18

BABA BRINKMAN’S RAP GUIDE TO… 
Evolution • Consciousness • Climate Chaos 

Written and Performed by Baba Brinkman

Consciousness and Climate Chaos 
Directed by Darren Lee Cole 
Visual Design by Olivia Sebesky
Music by Tom Caruana and Dan Moross

Evolution 
Directed by Dodd Loomis 
Visual Design by Wendall K. Harrington 
Music by Mr. Simmonds

SoHo Playhouse
15 Vandam Street, New York, NY 10013


Tickets: $39 per performance. Visit: www.sohoplayhouse.com/rapguide 
Special Offer: $59 for a pass to see all three. Visit: https://goo.gl/tac4fk

For more information & ticket purchases visit: www.sohoplayhouse.com or call (212) 691-1555 



Rap Guide to Evolution
Get tickets here: https://goo.gl/58Zh1q



“Astonishing and brilliant!” (NY Times) A hip-hop tour of modern evolutionary biology, winner of the Scotsman Fringe First Award in Edinburgh and nominated for a Drama Desk Award off- Broadway. Baba Brinkman combines the skills and charisma of a rapper with the precision of a scientist, offering deep insights into human nature and the origins of all living things, including rappers. Back by popular demand!



Showtimes:
Dec 28 Friday 8:30pm 
Dec 29 Saturday 8:30pm 
Jan 4 Friday 9pm
Jan 5 Saturday 9pm
Jan 18 Friday 9pm
Jan 19 Saturday 9pm 
Feb 1 Friday 8:30pm 
Feb 2 Friday 8:30pm 
Feb 9 Saturday 9pm
Feb 16 Saturday 9pm 
Feb 23 Saturday 9pm



Rap Guide to Consciousness
Get tickets here: https://goo.gl/NtNE2c



“Peer reviewed rapper” Baba Brinkman takes a deep dive into the neuroscience of human experience, from sensations to hallucinations. “Exercise any free will you have and buy a ticket!” 4 Stars London’s Evening Standard) Baba's brain consists of tens of billions of neurons, none of which has any idea that he exists. And yet somehow those cells come together to produce a steady stream of ill rhymes and laughs, giving the expression “dropping science” a whole new meaning. Once you’ve seen through the eyes of embryos, octopuses, and self-conscious robots, your sense of reality may not survive intact!



Showtimes:
Dec 27 Thursday 8:30pm 
Jan 2 Wednesday 8:30pm 
Jan 3 Thursday 9pm
Jan 16 Wednesday 9pm 
Jan 17 Thursday 9pm
Jan 23 Wednesday 9pm 
Jan 24 Thursday 9pm
Jan 30 Wednesday 8:30pm
Jan 31 Thursday 8:30pm 
Feb 6 Wednesday 9pm 
Feb 13 Wednesday 9pm



Rap Guide to Climate Chaos
Get tickets here: https://goo.gl/B1okyn



Canadian tree planter turned rap artist Baba Brinkman breaks down the science and politics of global warming, following its surprising twists from the carbon cycle to the energy economy. “A musical tour of the defining issue of our time, bringing much-needed color, clarity, and humor” (Popular Science), Climate Chaos pulls no punches in confronting both the scale of the challenge and also the failings of human psychology that make it such an easy problem to ignore. With scientists, activists, contrarians, and even the Pope adding their voices to the soundtrack, get ready for a funny and refreshing take on the world’s hottest topic.



Showtimes:
Dec 30 Sunday 5pm 
Jan 6 Sunday 3pm 
Jan 13 Sunday 5pm 
Jan 20 Sunday 5pm 
Jan 27 Sunday 5pm 
Feb 4 Monday 8:30pm 
Feb 10 Sunday 7pm 
Feb 10 Sunday 7pm 
Feb 11 Monday 9pm 
Feb 17 Sunday 9pm 
Feb 24 Sunday 9pm



Baba285 - Credit Tavakoli Photography.JPG



ABOUT BABA BRINKMAN



Baba Brinkman is a New York-based Canadian rap artist and award-winning playwright. To date, Brinkman has written seven hip hop plays and released more than a dozen rap albums, toured the world, and enjoyed successful runs at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and off-Broadway in New York. Brinkman is a pioneer in both science-based rap and also "lit-hop" or literary hip hop, with rap adaptations of The Canterbury Tales, Beowulf, and Gilgamesh. 



Brinkman remains best known for his “Rap Guide to…” science series. The first of those, Rap Guide to Evolution (“Astonishing and brilliant” - NY Times), won a Scotsman Fringe First Award and a Drama Desk Award nomination, and was featured on MSNBC’s “The Rachel Maddow Show” and at the Seattle Science Festival opening for Stephen Hawking. 2015’s Rap Guide to Religion was an NY Times Critics’ Pick and earned him a second Drama Desk Award Nomination, and Baba is a recent recipient of the National Center for Science Education's "Friend of Darwin Award" for his efforts to improve the public understanding of evolutionary biology. 



His latest play Rap Guide to Consciousness was a hit at the 2017 Edinburgh Fringe, exploring the material basis of brain science in hip hop form. The show was featured on Star Talk with Neil deGrasse Tyson and recently completed an eight month off-Broadway run at the Soho Playhouse. Brinkman’s clever and distinctive style has earned him the attention of the New York Times, Time Out New York, The Village Voice, NPR, Macleans, CBC, and the BBC. When he is not on tour, Baba Brinkman resides in New York with his wife, neuroscientist and TV host Dr. Heather Berlin, and their two children.
reply

Previous: FRED BARTON AND HIS BROADWAY BAND: BROADWAY GEMS & SWING RARITIES, JANUARY 4 AT FEINSTEIN'S/54 BELOW - Official_Press_Release 10:24 am EST 12/05/18
Next: ANN MARIE DEANGELO Celebrates A Busy Year and Future Projects - Official_Press_Release 07:31 am EST 12/05/18
Thread:

    Privacy Policy


    Time to render: 0.008367 seconds.