Eugene O'Neill Theater Center announces Lin-Manuel Miranda & Michael Douglas To Give Opening Remarks and Present the 19th Monte Cristo Award honoring Playwright & Screenwriter John Logan
Posted by: Official_Press_Release 05:58 pm EDT 03/11/19

Eugene O'Neill Theater Center announces

Lin-Manuel Miranda


Michael Douglas

To Give Opening Remarks and Present the

19th Monte Cristo Award honoring

Playwright & Screenwriter John Logan

The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center, announces that composer, actor and Tony Award-winner, Lin-Manuel Miranda will give the opening remarks at the Eugene O’Neill Theater Center’s Monte Cristo Award Gala, while Academy Award-winning actor and O’Neill Center trustee, Michael Douglas will present the iconic statue to playwright and screenwriter John Logan, at the gala evening in celebration of Logan’s many achievements being held at the Edison Ballroom (New York) on Monday, April 22, 2019.

Both Lin-Manuel Miranda and Michael Douglas first launched their careers at the Eugene O’Neill Theater Center and both are previous recipients of the Center’s annual honor for theatrical excellence. Miranda received the Monte Cristo Award last year at the 2018 ceremony, and Douglas was presented with the honor in 2012.

An alumnus of the O’Neill, John Logan developed the musical Superhero, currently off-Broadway, at the O'Neill's 2017 National Music Theater Conference and his Moulin Rouge bows on Broadway this summer. The O’Neill annually bestows its Monte Cristo Award on a prominent artist whose work has had an extraordinary impact on American theater, in memory of its namesake. The gala event supports the Center’s commitment to developing new work and new artists for the stage.

Tickets for the Monte Cristo Award are available at www.theoneill.org/montecristoaward. Tickets start at $1,250. Multiple levels available. For sponsorship opportunities or additional information about the event, call 860-443-5378 ext. 288, or email events@theoneill.org.

EVENT: Monday, April 22, 2019, 6:30pm at Edison Ballroom (NYC)

INFORMATION & RSVP: www.theoneill.org/montecristoaward

About the Monte Cristo Award:

The Monte Cristo Award is presented to a prominent individual each year in recognition of a distinguished career exemplifying Eugene O’Neill’s “pioneering spirit, unceasing artistic commitment, and excellence,” and furthering the American theater.

Past recipients of the Award include actors Judith Light, Meryl Streep, Michael Douglas, Nathan Lane, Christopher Plummer, James Earl Jones, Jason Robards, Jr., Zoe Caldwell, Brian Dennehy, & Karl Malden; playwrights August Wilson, Wendy Wasserstein, Edward Albee, & Neil Simon; directors Harold Prince & George C. Wolfe; and Lin-Manuel Miranda & Arthur & Barbara Gelb.

> Web: www.theoneill.org/montecristoaward

> Twitter: #ONeillMCA (@O’Neill_Center)

About the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center:

The Launchpad of the American Theater, the O’Neill is the country’s preeminent organization dedicated to the development of new works and new voices for the American theater. Founded in 1964, and named in honor of Eugene O’Neill, four-time Pulitzer Prize-winner and America’s only playwright to win the Nobel Prize in Literature, the O’Neill has been home to more than 1,000 new works for the stage and thousands more emerging artists. Scores of projects developed at the O’Neill have gone on to full production at theaters around the world. O’Neill programs include the National Playwrights Conference, National Music Theater Conference, National Critics Institute, National Puppetry Conference, Cabaret & Performance Conference, and National Theater Institute – which offers six credit-earning undergraduate training programs. In addition, the O’Neill owns and operates the Monte Cristo Cottage as a museum open to the public. The O’Neill is the recipient of two Tony Awards and the National Medal of Arts. www.theoneill.org.

Previous: Final 4 weeks to see 10-time Tony Award winner THE BAND'S VISIT on Broadway - Official_Press_Release 06:02 pm EDT 03/11/19
Next: Free Reading of Christopher Marlowe's classic "Doctor Faustus" March 22 - Official_Press_Release 05:49 pm EDT 03/11/19

    Privacy Policy

    Time to render: 0.007993 seconds.