Vineyard Theatre Announces Original Cast Readings; Cyber Monday Deal
Posted by: Official_Press_Release 10:46 am EST 11/27/20

Vineyard Theatre
A Series of Original Cast Readings

Pulitzer-Prize Finalist
By Branden Jacobs-Jenkins
Directed by Evan Cabnet

Kyle Beltran, Catherine Combs,
Michael Crane, Jennifer Kim,
Jeanine Serralles, Ryan Spahn


Brutal Imagination
By Cornelius Eady
Directed by Joe Morton

Joe Morton and Sally Murphy
Directed by Joe Morton

Cyber Monday Deal
Includes access to readings, Lessons in Survival parts 1 and 2,
and future programming throughout the season.

Vineyard Theatre announces a series of original cast benefit readings, including Gloria, the Pulitzer Prize finalist play by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins and directed by Evan Cabnet, which will air on January 19 and be available for viewing through January 22; Brutal Imagination by Cornelius Eady and directed by Joe Morton, dates to be announced for viewing in February 2021; and one more to be announced at a later date. All proceeds from these original cast readings will support the artists and programs in the nonprofit theatre's 2020-2021 Season.

The Gloria reading includes original cast members Kyle Beltran, Catherine Combs, Michael Crane, Jennifer Kim, Jeanine Serralles, and Ryan Spahn. Original cast members Joe Morton and Sally Murphy reunite for Brutal Imagination.

On Cyber Monday, November 30, The Vineyard will offer Membership bundles for $89 (regularly $105). The Cyber Monday Bundle, available for 24 hours only, includes:
● Access to all three original cast reunion benefit readings.
● Immediate access to all of Lessons in Survival Part 1 through June 30, 2021 (Normally an additional $30 as a Flex Member)
● Choose what you want to see of The Vineyard's future programming and save 50% off tickets, including mini-commissioned new works and Part 2 of Lessons In Survival
● The opportunity to reserve a socially distanced space for spring outdoor performances
● Early booking in advance of the public
● 25% off merchandise

The readings are included as a benefit of Vineyard Memberships, in addition to upcoming season programming. All Membership options and information are available at: www.vineyardtheatre.org/membership. Single tickets will be available with a minimum donation of $25, beginning Wednesday, December 9 at 1pm.

From the writer of such acclaimed plays as Everybody, An Octoroon, Appropriate, War and Neighbors, Gloria is Mr. Jacobs-Jenkins' funny, trenchant and powerful play that follows an ambitious group of editorial assistants at a notorious Manhattan magazine, each of whom hopes for a starry life of letters and a book deal before they turn 30. But when an ordinary humdrum workday becomes anything but, the stakes for who will get to tell their own story become higher than ever.

ALL HAIL 'GLORIA'! One of the year's best plays.
It's not just "Game of Thrones" that boasts jaw-dropping shockers - the new play "Gloria" has such a fantastic moment, it's killing me that I can't spill the beans.
Bitingly funny and fierce. This is a great ride.
-New York Post

MacArthur "Genius" Grant winner and two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist, Mr. Jacobs-Jenkins received The Vineyard's distinguished Paula Vogel Playwriting Award for emerging writers in 2011.

Oppenheimer Award-winning playwright and poet Cornelius Eady, and renowned actors Joe Morton and Sally Murphy, reunite for a reading of Eady's play Brutal Imagination, which premiered at The Vineyard in 2002 and remains a potent examination of racial injustice in America. Brutal Imagination is based on Eady's poem cycle exploring the notorious 1994 incident in which Susan Smith, a white woman from South Carolina, claimed that an African American man had kidnapped her children. The FBI searched for the man until Smith confessed the truth: she had invented the man and had drowned the children. Brutal Imagination brings this invented man to life and tells the story from his perspective. The original Vineyard world-premiere production was directed by Diane Paulus, with original music by Diedre L. Murray.

"Resuscitating this frightening invention of racism and desperation and letting him speak for himself is the bold and inspired idea behind ''Brutal Imagination".... It grabs you instantly and ferociously, and a corresponding excitement glitters through this two-character chamber work."
-- The New York Times

About Vineyard Theatre

VINEYARD THEATRE is an Off-Broadway theatre company dedicated to nurturing the voices of daring artists, and developing and producing work that pushes the boundaries of what theatre can be and do. One of the country's preeminent centers for the creation of new plays and musicals, our work seeks to challenge and inspire all of us to see ourselves and our world from different perspectives.

The Vineyard's 2019-2020 Season included Tina Satter's Is This A Room, named "Best
Theater of 2019" by The New York Times and New York Magazine and winner of the Drama Desk Award for Unique Theatrical Experience; and Lucas Hnath's Dana H., a 2020 New York Times Critic's Pick, which won the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Solo Show. Other notable premieres include Ngozi Anyanwu's Good Grief; Jeremy O. Harris' "Daddy"; Mara Nelson-Greenberg's Do You Feel Anger?; David Cale's Harry Clarke (2018 Drama Desk, Obie, Lucille Lortel Awards); Paula Vogel and Rebecca Taichman's Indecent (two 2017 Tony Awards); two Pulitzer Prize-winning plays, Paula Vogel's How I Learned To Drive and Edward Albee's Three Tall Women; Branden Jacobs-Jenkins' Gloria; Nicky Silver's The Lyons; Marx, Lopez and Whitty's Avenue Q (Tony Award, Best Musical); Kander, Ebb, and Thompson's The Scottsboro Boys; Bell and Bowen's [title of show]; Polly Pen's Goblin Market; Tarell Alvin McCraney's Wig Out!; Jenny Schwartz' God's Ear; Will Eno's Middletown; Becky Mode's Fully Committed; Colman Domingo's Dot, and many more.

The Vineyard's Paula Vogel Playwriting Award, Susan Stroman Directing Award, and Colman Domingo Award provide residencies to early-career artists, and our education programs serve over 700 NYC public high school students annually in collaboration with Developing Artists. Works developed and premiered at our home in Union Square have gone on to be seen around the world, and The Vineyard is proud to be the recipient of special Drama Desk, Obie and Lucille Lortel awards for artistic excellence.

The Vineyard's 2020-2021 Artists-in-Residence include John J. Caswell, Jr., The Commissary, Michael R. Jackson, Charly Evon Simpson, York Walker, and Whitney White.

Vineyard Theatre's leadership includes Artistic Directors Douglas Aibel and Sarah Stern and Managing Director Suzanne Appel.

For more information, call the box office at 646-931-4714 or please visit www.vineyardtheatre.org.
Link http://www.vineyardtheatre.org

Previous: SOUND ADVICE WEEKLY RECAP PT 2: MUSIC RELEASED TODAY - T.B._Admin. 11:00 am EST 11/27/20
Next: Tony nominees Elizabeth Stanley and Celia Rose Gooding and featured on podcast DRAMA - Official_Press_Release 10:42 am EST 11/27/20

    Privacy Policy

    Time to render: 0.008068 seconds.