Vineyard Theatre Extends Gloria Original Cast Reading; Streaming January 19 - 24
Posted by: Official_Press_Release 05:36 pm EST 01/12/21

Vineyard Theatre extends availability of
Gloria Original Cast Reading
Now Streaming January 19 - 24

Pulitzer Prize Finalist
By Branden Jacobs-Jenkins
Directed by Evan Cabnet

Kyle Beltran, Catherine Combs,
Michael Crane, Jennifer Kim,
Jeanine Serralles, Ryan Spahn

Vineyard Theatre's original cast benefit reading of Gloria, the Pulitzer Prize finalist play by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins and directed by Evan Cabnet, will begin streaming on January 19 at 7:00pm EST and will be available through January 24, allowing for two additional days of viewing on demand. Proceeds from this reading will support the artists and programs in the nonprofit theatre's 2020-2021 season, with a portion of the proceeds supporting The Dramatists Guild Foundation.

The Gloria reading includes original cast members Kyle Beltran, Catherine Combs, Michael Crane, Jennifer Kim, Jeanine Serralles and Ryan Spahn . In addition to being a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, the original production was a seven-time Critic's Pick and received notable nominations from the Lortel Awards, Drama League Awards, Drama Desk Awards and Outer Critics Circle Awards.

This reading is included as a benefit of Vineyard Memberships, in addition to upcoming season programming. All membership options and information is available at: www.vineyardtheatre.org/membership. Single tickets are currently available with a minimum donation of $25 and can be purchased at www.vineyardtheatre.org/gloria-2/.

From the writer of such acclaimed plays as Everybody, An Octoroon, Appropriate, War and Neighbors, Gloria is Mr. Jacobs-Jenkins' funny, trenchant and powerful play that follows an ambitious group of editorial assistants at a notorious Manhattan magazine, each of whom hopes for a starry life of letters and a book deal before they turn 30. But when an ordinary humdrum workday becomes anything but, the stakes for who will get to tell their own story become higher than ever.

One of the year's best plays.
It's not just "Game of Thrones" that boasts jaw-dropping shockers - the new play "Gloria" has such a fantastic moment, it's killing me that I can't spill the beans.
Bitingly funny and fierce. This is a great ride."
-New York Post

"Powerful and stunningly structured.
After the shock, it's the human touches that linger."
-Time Out

MacArthur "Genius" Grant winner and two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist, Mr. Jacobs-Jenkins received The Vineyard's distinguished Paula Vogel Playwriting Award for emerging writers in 2011.

Also included in the Vineyard Membership is a reading of Brutal Imagination by Cornelius Eady and directed by Joe Morton, in March 2021; and one more title to be announced at a later date. Proceeds from these original cast readings will support the artists and programs in the nonprofit theatre's 2020-2021 Season, in addition, a portion of the proceeds from Gloria will support The Dramatists Guild Foundation.

About Vineyard Theatre

Vineyard Theatre is an Off-Broadway theatre company dedicated to nurturing the voices of daring artists and developing and producing work that pushes the boundaries of what theatre can be and do. One of the country's preeminent centers for the creation of new plays and musicals, our work seeks to challenge and inspire all of us to see ourselves and our world from different perspectives.

The Vineyard's 2019-2020 Season included Tina Satter's Is This A Room, named "Best Theater of 2019" by The New York Times and New York Magazine and winner of the Drama Desk Award for Unique Theatrical Experience; and Lucas Hnath's Dana H., New York Times Best Theatre of 2020 and New York Times Critic's Pick, which won the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Solo Show. Other notable premieres include Ngozi Anyanwu's Good Grief; Jeremy O. Harris' "Daddy"; Mara Nelson-Greenberg's Do You Feel Anger?; David Cale's Harry Clarke (2018 Drama Desk, Obie, Lucille Lortel Awards); Paula Vogel and Rebecca Taichman's Indecent (two 2017 Tony Awards); two Pulitzer Prize-winning plays, Paula Vogel's How I Learned To Drive and Edward Albee's Three Tall Women; Branden Jacobs-Jenkins' Gloria; Nicky Silver's The Lyons; Marx, Lopez and Whitty's Avenue Q (Tony Award, Best Musical); Kander, Ebb, and Thompson's The Scottsboro Boys; Bell and Bowen's [title of show]; Polly Pen's Goblin Market; Tarell Alvin McCraney's Wig Out!; Jenny Schwartz' God's Ear; Will Eno's Middletown ; Becky Mode's Fully Committed; Colman Domingo's Dot, and many more.

The Vineyard's Paula Vogel Playwriting Award, Susan Stroman Directing Award, and Colman Domingo Award provide residencies to early-career artists and our education programs serve over 700 NYC public high school students annually in collaboration with Developing Artists. Works developed and premiered at our home in Union Square have gone on to be seen around the world and The Vineyard is proud to be the recipient of special Drama Desk, Obie and Lucille Lortel Awards for artistic excellence.

The Vineyard's 2020-2021 Artists-in-Residence include John J. Caswell, Jr., The Commissary, Michael R. Jackson, Charly Evon Simpson, York Walker and Whitney White.

Vineyard Theatre's leadership includes Artistic Directors Douglas Aibel and Sarah Stern and Managing Director Suzanne Appel.

For more information, call the box office at 646-931-4714 or please visit www.vineyardtheatre.org.
Link http://www.vineyardtheatre.org

Next: World Premiere of Hershey Felder: Before Fiddler – Live from Florence to be streamed on Sunday, February 7, benefitting US arts organizations - Official_Press_Release 05:35 pm EST 01/12/21

    Privacy Policy

    Time to render: 0.008350 seconds.