Past Articles

What's New on the Rialto

2016 Theatre World Awards
By Michael Portantiere

The 72nd annual Theatre World Awards, honoring "outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway significant, reviewable debut performances," were presented last evening in a ceremony at Circle in the Square, home of Fun Home. Peter Filichia hosted the ceremony, which was highlighted by the heartfelt acceptance speeches of this year's winners and appearances by past winners such as Anita Gillette, Joanna Gleason, Phillip Boykin, and Russell Harvard.

Following the list of winners are Michael Portantiere's photos from the red carpet.

2016 Theatre World Award Winners

Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple

Carmen Cusack, Bright Star

Khris Davis, The Royale

Daniel Durant, Spring Awakening

Cynthia Erivo, The Color Purple

John Krasinski, Dry Powder

Sarah Charles Lewis, Tuck Everlasting

Austin P. McKenzie, Spring Awakening

Lupita Nyong'o, Eclipsed

Mark Strong, A View From The Bridge

Ana Villafañe, On Your Feet

Ben Whishaw, The Crucible

2016 Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater Winner
Nicholas Barasch, She Loves Me

2016 John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Winner
Bernadette Peters

Ana Villafañe (On Your Feet)

Daniel Durant (Spring Awakening)

Austin P. McKenzie (Spring Awakening)

Nicholas Barasch (She Loves Me)
2016 recipient of the Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater
with Lionel Larner, Executive Director of the Dorothy Loudon Foundation

Ben Whishaw (The Crucible)

Bernadette Peters
John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement
1968 winner for George M!

Carmen Cusack (Bright Star)

Cynthia Erivo (The Color Purple)

Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple)

Khris Davis (The Royale)

Sarah Charles Lewis (Tuck Everlasting)
with Andrew Keenan-Bolger

Lupita Nyong'o (Eclipsed)

De'Adre Aziza Performed at the ceremony
2008 winner for Passing Strange

Emerson Steele, Presenter
2014 winner for Violet

Russell Harvard, Presenter
2012 winner for Tribes
Flanked by his entourage

Phillip Boykin, Presenter
2012 winner for The Gershwins' Porgy and Bess

Privacy Policy