Sound Advice
Schedule of New & Upcoming CD, DVD & Book Releases

Talkin' Broadway Sound Advice Recap 3/15/11

Complete information on all known upcoming releases of theatre related audio and video recordings can be found on our Upcoming Releases page. Recordings released last week and earlier can be viewed here.

This recap is available by email. Join the e-blast list to receive the recaps each week (choose the Sound Advice Weekly Recap interest group).

Earlier recaps:

March 8, 2011 | March 1, 2011 | February 22, 2011 | February 15, 2011 | February 8, 2011 | February 1, 2011 | January 25, 2011 | January 18, 2011 | January 11, 2011

CDs Now Available:

Christopher Jackson: In the Name of Love
(Yellow Sound Label - new on CDIn the Name of Love - Christopher Jackson
Performer (The Lion King, In the Heights) and writer. "In the Name of Love," "Paralyzed," "Our Love (Is So Good)," "Nobody Else," "Don't Give Up," "Invisible," "Blinded By the Lights," "Be A Light," "One More Day," "Change Your Mind," "Promises To Keep," "If We Let It Go," "I Got You." Amazon exclusive CD. See our review of this album.

An Evening With Sutton Foster - Live At The Cafe Carlyle
(Ghostlight Records - new on CDAn Evening With Sutton Foster - Live At the Café Carlyle - Sutton Foster & Michael Rafter
CD Universe
24 tracks, including patter. "I'm Beginning To See The Light," "Not For The Life Of Me/NYC/Astonishing," "Up on the Roof," "Air Conditioner," "Warm All Over," "Show Off," "More to the Story," "My Heart Was Set On You," "Down With Love," "I Like The Sunrise," "Defying Gravity," "Late Late Show," "Sunshine on my Shoulders," "Anyone Can Whistle/Being Alive," "Come The Wild Wild Weather," "Here, There, Everywhere," "And I Am Telling You."

Inner City
(Sony Masterworks Broadway - new on CD-R/mp3/Inner City - Various ArtistsInner City - Various Artists
1971 original Broadway cast recording. Helen Miller (music) / Eve Merriam (lyrics) score, based on Merriam's book The Inner City Mother Goose. Linda Hopkins, Delores Hall, Larry Marshall and Allan Nichols. CD available at Arkiv Music. iTunes and Amazon mp3 come with digital booklet.

BOOKs Now Available:

Anything Goes (2011 Revival Edition) Songbook
(Alfred Publishing - Paperback Book)
13 songs. "I Get a Kick Out of You," "You're the Top," "Easy to Love," "Friendship," "It's De-Lovely," "Anything Goes," "Public Enemy Number One," "Blow, Gabriel, Blow," "Goodbye, Little Dream, Goodbye," "Be Like the Bluebird," "All Through the Night," "The Gypsy in Me," "Buddie, Beware."

The Cole Porter Song Collection: Easy Piano Songbook
(Alfred Publishing - Paperback Book)
39 Cole Porter songs. Arranged by Dan Coates.

Jekyll & Hyde - The Musical: Singer's Edition
(Cherry Lane - Paperback Book & CD)
Frank Wildhorn/Leslie Bricusse score. Specifically designed for singers. Eight songs from the show in their original keys. Sheet music with vocal line and lyrics, along with a piano accompaniment that's a reduction of the original orchestral score. CD features a full performance of each piano accompaniment. "In His Eyes," "It's a Dangerous Game," "A New Life," "No One Knows Who I Am," "Once upon a Dream," "Someone like You," "Take Me as I Am," "This Is the Moment."


Wonderland - A New Alice OBC recording
(Masterworks Broadway - new on CD)
Original Broadway cast. Music by Frank Wildhorn and lyrics by Jack Murphy. Janet Dacal, Darren Ritchie, E. Clayton Cornelious, Jose Llana, Karen Mason, Kate Shindle, Carly Rose Sonenclar, Edward Staudenmayer, Danny Stiles. Recorded March 6.


Moved to April 5:

Priscilla, Queen Of The Desert OBC
(Rhino - new on CD)
CD Universe
"It's Raining Men," "What's Love Got To Do With It," "Don't Leave Me This Way," "Material Girl," "Go West," "I Say A Little Prayer," "I Love the Nightlife," "True Colors," "Verdi: Follie Delirio vano e questo!," "Color My World," "I Will Survive," "A Fine Romance," "Shake Your Groove Thing," "Pop Muzik," "A Fine Romance (reprise)," "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun," "Hot Stuff," "MacArthur Park," "Always On My Mind / Like A Prayer," "We Belong," "Finally." Produced by Stephen "Spud" Murphy and Frank Filipetti.

Added to May/June:

Catch Me If You Can OBC
(Ghostlight Records - new on CD)
Marc Shaiman-Scott Wittman score. To be recorded April 18. Aaron Tveit, Norbert Leo Butz, Tom Wopat, Kerry Butler, Rachel De Benedet, Linda Hart, Nick Wyman. To be released digitally and at the Neil Simon Theatre in May or early June. June CD release.

Added, no release date:

Baby, It's You OBC
(Universal - new on CD)The story of Florence Greenberg, who discovered the 1960s pop group The Shirelles and created Scepter Records. Existing songs of the period. Cast includes Allan Louis, Geno Henderson, Erica Ash, Kelli Barrett, Kyra DaCosta, Crystal Starr Knighton, Barry Pearl, Christina Sajous, Brandon Uranowitz, Alison Cimmet, Erica Dorfler, Berlando Drake, Adam Heller, Jahi A. Kearse, Annette Moore, Zachary Prince, Ken Robinson and Chelsea Morgan Stock.

The Book Of Mormon OBC
(Ghostlight - new on CD)
Score by Robert Lopez, Trey Parker and Matt Stone. Cast includes Josh Gad, Andrew Rannells, Nikki M. James, Rory O'Malley, Michael Potts, Lewis Cleale, Scott Barnhardt, Justin Bohon, Darlesia Cearcy, Kevin Duda, Asmeret Ghebremichael, Brian Tyree Henry, Clark Johnsen, John Eric Parker, Jason Michael Snow, Benjamin Schrader, Michael James Scott, Brian Sears, Lawrence Stallings, Rema Webb, Maia Nkenge Wilson, Tommar Wilson, Graham Bowen, Ta'rea Campbell and Tyson Jennette.

Thanks to Max Preeo for his contributions.

Talkin' Broadway is a volunteer based site. Making purchases through our Amazon, CD Universe and Deep Discount links helps to defray the costs involved in keeping Talkin' Broadway on the Net.

Corrections and questions may be directed to

For in-depth information on cast recordings, visit The Musical Cast Album Database.

Privacy Policy