Sound Advice
Schedule of New & Upcoming CD, DVD & Book Releases

Talkin' Broadway Sound Advice Recap 5/21/13

Complete information on all known upcoming releases of theatre related audio and video recordings can be found on our Upcoming Releases page. Recordings released last week and earlier can be viewed here.

This recap is available by email. Join the e-blast list to receive the recaps each week (choose the Sound Advice Weekly Recap interest group).

Earlier recaps:

May 14, 7 | April 30, 23, 16, 9, 2 | March 26, 19, 12, 5 | February 26, 19, 12, 5; January 29, 22, 15, 8, 1

CDs Now Available:

Audra McDonald: Go Back Home
(Nonesuch - new on CD/mp3/iTunes)
"Go Back Home," "The Glamorous Life," "Baltimore," "First You Dream," "Tavern," "Migratory V," "Virtue," "Married Love," "I'll Be Here," "Some Days," "Edelweiss," "Make Someone Happy." Produced by Doug Petty. Musical direction by Andy Einhorn, also conductor. Recorded in February 2013. Also, a limited edition autograph print currently pre-ordering at Nonesuch.

Giant Cast Recording
(Ghostlight Records - new mp3/iTunes)
Michael John LaChiusa score. Cast from Public Theater production. Kate Baldwin, Brian d'Arcy James, Michelle Pawk, P.J. Griffith, MacKenzie Mauzy, Bobby Steggert, Jon Fletcher, Raul Aranas, Mary Bacon, Miguel Cervantes, Natalie Cortez, Rocio Del Mar Valles, John Dossett, Michael Halling, Doreen Montalvo, Allison Rogers, Martin Sola, Matthew Stocke, Katie Thompson, William Youmans, Enrique Acevedo, Isabel Santiago. "Aurelia Dolores," "Did Spring Come to Texas?," "Your Texas," "No Time for Surprises," "Private Property," "Outside Your Window," "He Wanted a Girl," "Heartbreak Country," "Ruega por Nosotros," "Look Back/Look Ahead," "Topsy Turvy," "When to Bluff," "One Day," "My Texas," "A Stranger," "Act One Finale." 17-member orchestra. 2-CD album to be released 6/4/13.


Judy Garland: Creations 1929-1962 - Songs She Introduced: Vol 1 and Vol 2
(JSP Records - mp3 Vol 1/iTunes and mp3 Vol 2//iTunes)
Remastered set of Judy Garland compilation albums. Mp3 albums in two volumes, 66 tracks total. Remastered recordings of songs Garland was the first to perform. 4-CD box set available from the U.K. at Amazon UK.

Kerrigan-Lowdermilk Live
(Yellow Sound Label - new mp3/iTunes)
"Hand in Hand" (Lindsay Mendez), "The Bad Years" (Jesse Ruben), "The Fathers Ran Away" (Rebecca Naomi Jones), "I'm Sorry" (Nadia Quinn), "I Look Around for You" (Morgan Karr), "Run Away With Me" (Carrie Manolakos), "Berkeley" (the Spring Standards), "My Party Dress" (Jenni Barber), "I Drove You Home" (Alysha Umphress), "Sadie" (Matt Doyle), "The Proposal" (Sara Chase), "Shut up and Listen" (Andy Mientus), "In Between" (Carrie Manolakos & Nathan Tysen), "The Girl Who Drove Away" (Laura Osnes), "How to Return Home" (Mandy Gonzalez), "Vegas" (Steven Booth & Andy Mientus), "Avalanche" (Katrina Rose Dideriksen), "Intro to Holding On," "Holding On" (Dee Roscioli).

DVD/Blu-Rays Now Available:

Mel Brooks: Make A Noise (American Masters)
(Shout! Factory - new on DVD)
Recent PBS airing. Features never-before-heard stories and new interviews with Brooks, Matthew Broderick, Nathan Lane, Cloris Leachman, Carl Reiner, Joan Rivers, Tracey Ullman and others. Career-spanning documentary. 90 minutes.

BOOKs Now Available:

Disgraced by Ayad Akhtar
(Bloomsbury Methuen Drama - Paperback Book)
Ayad Akhtar's Pulitzer Prize winning play. 112 pages.


Gloria Estefan: The Standards
(Sony Masterworks - new on CD)
Songs from the American Songbook sung in English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese and French, some with new lyrics written by Estefan. With Laura Pausini, Joshua Bell and Dave Koz. "Good Morning Heartache," "They Can't Take That Away From Me," "What A Difference A Day Makes," "I've Grown Accustomed To His Face," "Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar," "The Day You Say You Love Me," "Embraceable You," "What A Wonderful World," "How Long Has This Been Going On," "SonrĂ­e (Smile)," "The Way You Look Tonight," "You Made Me Love You," "Young At Heart."


Moved to June 4:

Dogfight Original Cast
(Ghostlight - new on CD)
Benj Pasek and Justin Paul score. Annaleigh Ashford, Becca Ayers, Nick Blaemire, Steven Booth, Dierdre Friel, Adam Halpin, F. Michael Haynie, Derek Klena, Lindsay Mendez, James Moye and Josh Segarra. Produced by Kurt Deutsch and Lawrence Manchester. Premiered at Second Stage in July 2012. "Prelude: Take Me Back," "Some Kinda Time," "Hey, Good-Lookin'," "Come to a Party," "Nothing Short of Wonderful," "Come to a Party (Reprise)," "That Face," "Dogfight," "Pretty Funny," "Hometown Hero's Ticker Tape Parade," "First Date/Last Night," "Before It's Over," "Give Way," "Some Kinda Time (Reprise)," "Come Back," "Finale: Take Me Back." Released digitally May 30.